Mr. Basketball Dwaun Anderson is king from Up North

BY PERRY A. FARRELL
DETROIT FREE PRESS SPORTS WRITER

1:41 AM, Mar. 22, 2011I

Dwaun Anderson got the news Saturday while eating breakfast at Burger King with coach Todd Hursey.

The Suttons Bay senior guard had been named the 31st recipient of the Hal Schram Mr. Basketball Award. When it was presented to him Monday, he became the second northern Michigan player in the past week to win the award given to the state's top senior basketball player. Central Lake's Jasmine Hines won the Miss Basketball Award on March 7.

"We figured he's the first kid north of Saginaw to win the award," Hursey said.

The award is named after the late Hal Schram, who covered athletics for the Free Press for more than 40 years. It's given annually by the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan, in conjunction with the Free Press.

Anderson received first-place votes from 47% of the 858 coaches.

"I was really surprised; I didn't think I was going to get it at all," the 6-foot-4 Anderson said. "My team has always supported me, and my AAU coaches have always helped me."

In voting by BCAM members, Anderson totaled 2,053 points to 1,746 for runner-up LaDontae Henton of Lansing Eastern. They were followed by Birmingham Detroit Country Day's Amir Williams (1,429), Southfield's Carlton Brundidge (1,334) and Detroit Southeastern's Brandan Kearney (1,124).

"If I had a vote, it would probably would have been LaDontae," a gracious Anderson said. "He's such a great player, and he has the numbers."

Anderson has numbers, too. He holds the school's scoring record with 1,636 points and set the Suttons Bay mark for steals with 199. He averaged 20.1 points, 10 rebounds, 4.6 assists and 3.3 steals this season.

Anderson committed to Michigan State last season after the Norsemen reached the Class C final.

He will join the previous two Mr. Basketball winners, Derrick Nix and Keith Appling, at Michigan State.

Anderson said his team's run to the championship game last year helped put him on the map statewide.

"I thought making it to the state finals helped me as far as exposure," said Anderson, whose team was eliminated in district play this season. "Being at the Breslin and getting a chance to show my game a lot. It was a big thing leading my team to the state championship."

Hursey said the staff at Suttons Bay saw something special in Anderson very early.

"I knew as a freshman he was different," Hursey said. "We could see an incredible amount of potential, but he struggled academically and was not very focused. He wasn't very disciplined, but we knew there was a good chance he would be special."

Ron Anderson, Dwaun's uncle who adopted him 12 years ago, said the guard worked hard to become successful.

"He has applied himself, and he has learned how to play," Ron Anderson said. "He has the skills to compete at (any) level."

Teammate Jared O'Bran said Anderson made everyone better.

"He was always looking for the open guy, and he made nice passes," O'Bran said. "We played off his energy."

Ron Anderson said he never imagined Dwaun would be named Mr. Basketball.

"I was surprised he won," Ron Anderson said. "My thinking was there was no way they were going to give both trophies to someone Up North."

Now both traveling trophies will spend the next year getting a little northern exposure.

A special class

```
Here are the 30 former winners of the Hal Schram Mr. Basketball Award:
2010: Keith Appling, Detroit Pershing (MSU)
2009: Derrick Nix, Detroit Pershing (MSU)
2008: Brad Redford, Frankenmuth (Xavier)
2007: Manny Harris, Detroit Redford (U-M)
2006: David Kool, Grand Rapids South Christian (WMU)
2005: Wilson Chandler, Benton Harbor (De Paul)
2004: Drew Neitzel, Wyoming Park (MSU)
2003: Dion Harris, Detroit Redford (U-M)
2002: Paul Davis, Rochester (MSU)
2001: Kelvin Torbert, Flint Northwestern (MSU)
2000: Marcus Taylor, Lansing Waverly (MSU)
1999: Jason Richardson, Saginaw Arthur Hill (MSU)
1998: Dane Fife, Clarkston (Indiana)
1997: Shane Battier, Birmingham Detroit Country Day (Duke)
1996: Winfred Walton, Detroit Pershing (Syracuse, Fresno State)
1995: Robert Traylor, Detroit Murray-Wright (U-M)
1994: Willie Mitchell, Detroit Pershing (U-M, UAB)
1993: Jon Garavaglia, Southgate Aquinas (MSU)
1992: Kenyon Murray, Battle Creek Central (Iowa)
1991: Chris Webber, Birmingham Detroit Country Day (U-M)
1990: Anthony Miller, Benton Harbor (MSU)
1989: Michael Talley, Detroit Cooley (U-M)
1988: Matt Steigenga, Grand Rapids South Christian (MSU)
1987: Mark Macon, Saginaw Buena Vista (Temple)
1986: Terry Mills, Romulus (U-M)
1985: Glen Rice, Flint Northwestern (U-M)
```

1984: Demetreus Gore, Detroit Chadsev (Pitt)

1983: Antoine Joubert, Detroit Southwestern (U-M) 1982: Robert Henderson, Lansing Eastern (U-M) 1981: Sam Vincent, Lansing Eastern (MSU)